Weekly Wildflowers – McLaughlin Garden, South Paris, ME

gIMG_6151a
Red Trillium, Trillium erectum, Melanthiaceae
IMG_5927a
Wild Strawberry, Fragaria virginiana, Rosaceae
IMG_5960a
Bugle, Ajuga reptans, Lamiaceae
IMG_5970a
Violet, Viola sp., Violaceae
IMG_5988a
Mayapple, Podophyllum peltatum, Berberidacdeae
IMG_5997a
Forest Yellow Violet, Viola pubescens, Violaceae
IMG_6055a
Virginia Bluebells, Mertensia virginica, Boraginaceae
IMG_6078a
Violet, Viola sp., Violaceae
IMG_6084a
White Trillium, Trillium grandiflorum, Melanthiaceae
IMG_6114a
Jack in the Pulpit, Arisaema triphyllum, Araceae
IMG_6197a
Yellow Ladyslipper, Cypripedium parviflorum, Orchidaceae
IMG_6202a
Nodding Wakerobin, Trillium cernuum, Melanthiaceae
IMG_6244a
Black Chokeberry, Aronia melanocarpa, Rosaceae
IMG_6247a
Greater Celandine, Chelidonium majus, Papaveraceae

I am breaking one of my rules today – I don’t normally post plants that are actually planted in a garden (normally, what I post from formal gardens are plants I’ve found outside of the actual beds). However, the McLaughlin collection is meant to represent Maine wildflowers, so I’ve made an exception here. Even though these are planted in beds, they are from Maine. (There are a few parking lot finds mixed in here – I still find those everywhere I go.)

